Over the next few months I will be dipping into The Hammond archives to feature the story of a past student each week. Our student of the week this week is Carla Tirel née Beech. Carla attended Hoole Bank House School and then The Hammond School as an academic student, along with her older sister Debbie, from 1964 –75.

carla-1
Carla and Debbie on their horse Billy

What course were you on?

I was a day student – I lived in Mickle Trafford and could just walk across the field to school. I was not a ballet student, although I would help my friends embroider the toes of their pointe shoes! My passion was horse riding, which I have continued to this day.  Our house in Mickle Trafford, Oaklea was unfortunately demolished to make way for the motorway extension. I started at Hoole Bank House School when I was almost 5 years old and then when it changed to The Hammond I continued at the school till I was 16 years old.

carla-tirel-nee-beech-and-debbie-lanceley-1964-65
Carla and Debbie in their Hoole Bank House School uniform, 1964/5.

What is your favourite memory from The Hammond?

Lots of great memories, the Christmas Party, tennis, rounders at break time, cross country, the Summer Fête, netball, sitting on the radiators, Manchester tart for lunch (not everyone liked it and I would have at least three portions!) Mrs. Ecclestone for music – even though I was – and still am – tone deaf! My friends who I still see to this day, Sandra Axon, Pippa Lowe, I could go on and on…

carla-tirel
Under the stairs at The Hammond – Carla is in the middle wearing a mustard jumper

What did you go on to do?

My career has been in aviation, first as a Flight Attendant and then I moved into management and training. I have lived in Tripoli – Libya, Jeddah – Saudi Arabia, Frankfurt – Germany, Lisbon – Portugal, and now I am living in Bluffton, South Carolina in the USA with my husband John. Earlier this year we went through the naturalisation process to become American citizens.

What do you do now?

I currently work for an Aviation Emergency Response Company. We train and also respond in the event of an aviation accident to support the families of those affected.

carla
Carla and her husband John in Patagonia, Chile.

Thank-you for your wonderful memories Carla!

